top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaun Robertson

Creamy Vegan Boeber


Boeber has always been a favourite warm dessert that has been with me since my childhood. Not only is it deeply rooted in Cape Malay heritage and culture, but it also has traditional and cultural significance for the Muslim community. Although it can be eaten any time of the year and even though it is especially eaten during the month of Ramadaan (a month spent by Muslims fasting from sunrise to sunset), it is tradition for Boeber to be enjoyed on the 15th day

of the month to celebrate the halfway point.

Growing up with my Muslim aunt, uncle, cousins, and having a lot of Muslim friends, I was always fascinated by the Muslim religion. So much so, that I learnt the Al-Fatihah (Arabic prayer), went to mosque with my friend, and made Salah (an Islamic act of worship which happens 5 times per day) with his family. I remember trying my best to fast with them and not being able to do it all the way. However, during the fast, I knew that when the 15th day of Ramadaan arrived, I could just run over to my aunt, uncle, and cousins to "chill" with them, but I was actually just waiting for that bowl of Boeber, LOL. Yoh, I was such a Giemba (someone who eats a lot) when I was a kid.

When I reached high school, my Muslim family moved further away, so I couldn't get my annual dose of that deliciously, warm, creamy dessert. Luckily, my friend, Gadija, and her mom, were kind enough to bring me some Boeka (breaking of fast) treats to school during Ramadaan. From samoosas, pies, and daltjies, to that delicious Boeber. When I left high school, I didn't have any Boeber plug, and eating those premix packets just wasn't the same. I did however share my love for Boeber with a dear friend of mine, Shameem, whom I met while I was at university. Can you believe that to this day, after almost 4 years of friendship, I AM STILL WAITING FOR MY BOEBER? LOL!

I have grown up with such a rich experience of Cape Coloured culture and tradition that I've been nostalgically thinking of lately, and I feel so lucky and grateful to have those memories. Now that I'm older, and have adopted a new way of living, I have realized that I can still experience these traditions. Traditionally, Boeber is made from cow's milk, butter, and almonds. Now, with the Roasted Almond Flavored Alpro Nut milk, I don't need dairy or almonds! What a save! I can now make a pot of delicious Boeber that I can enjoy while listening to early 2000s music and happily reminisce on the good old days.

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 - 1.5L of Alpro Roasted Almond Milk

  • 2 TBSP of Rose Water

  • 1/4 Cup of Soaked Sago

  • 100g of Vegan Butter

  • 1 Large handful of cracked Vermicelli

  • 8 Cardamom Seeds

  • 1/4 Cup of Desiccated Coconut

  • 3 Sticks of Cinnamon

  • 1/2 Cup of Sugar

 

RECIPE:

  1. Soak the sago in water for 30 minutes.

  2. On medium heat, melt the vegan butter in a pot until there's a layer of simmering, buttery liquid at the bottom of the pot.

  3. Add the cardamom pods, cinnamon sticks and cracked vermicelli to the butter and stir until the vermicelli is golden brown and you can smell the warm, fragrance of cardamom and cinnamon. Remember not to burn the vermicelli and the spices.

  4. Add the Alpro Roasted Almond Milk, rose water, sugar and desiccated coconut to the pot and bring to boil.

  5. Add the soaked sago and simmer the mixture until the sago is transparent. This takes about 4 - 7 minutes.

  6. Keep stirring to prevent the mixture from burning and sticking to the bottom of the pot.

  7. Once the mixture has reached a slightly thick, pudding-like consistency, remove the pot from the heat and the Boeber is ready to enjoy.

 

Let's unify through our cultural diversity


This was a delicious desert that I was so excited to share with my flatmate who has never had Boeber before and she absolutely enjoyed it.

Making this recipe made me so proud to live in a nation where there's so much cultural diversity. Sharing food from our various cultures with each other helps us learn about each other and unifies us beyond our differences.

417 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page